Superstars light up the stage at the 68th Hyundai Filmfare Awards 2023

Superstars light up the stage at the 68th Hyundai Filmfare Awards 2023

These awardees were selected by the jury of filmmakers and screenwriters from Indian Cinema.

Mumbai: The coveted Black Lady of Filmfare honoured the artistic and technical excellence of Hindi Cinema with a brand-new edition of the glorious awards night, the 68th Hyundai Filmfare Awards 2023 with Maharashtra Tourism. Held on 27 April 2023, at Jio World Convention Centre, Mumbai, the mega event witnessed the big names from Indian Cinema gracing the red carpet, entertaining the crowd, and being felicitated for their work across different categories such as Popular, Critics’ and Technical. These awardees were selected by the esteemed jury of filmmakers, screenwriters and dignified legends from the Indian Cinema, who, with their candour have applauded some of the best upcoming talents for the future of the Hindi Cinema in the form of winners. The fans of Hindi Cinema can watch the exclusive telecast of this magnificent awards night on Colors and a simulcast on Jio Cinema on 28 April 28 at 9 pm.

The event was a true spectacle of glory and entertainment with audiences revelling in sheer excitement and loud cheers as Badhaai Do was announced as the winner of the Best Film Critics award. The award for Best Debutants was bestowed upon Ankush Gedam and Andrea Kevichusa for Male & Female category respectively for their fresh and breathtaking acting in Jhund and Anek. Rajkummar Rao emerged victorious in the Best Actor (Male) category for his exceptional portrayal of the character of Shardul Thakur, a gay man, in the movie Badhaai Do, while the Best Actor (Female) award was presented to the stunningly beautiful Alia Bhatt for her role in Gangubai Kathiawadi.

In addition to the immense love and appreciation that the movies and their actors received from the fans, the esteemed jury panel also recognized and honoured winners across other categories. Veteran Actor Sanjay Mishra took home the Black Lady in the Best Actor (Male) of the Critics' Choice category. The prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to the legendary Prem Chopra by Mangal Prabhat Lodha, honorable Minister of Tourism, Skills, Employment, Entrepreneurship and Innovation Women and Child Development, Government of Maharashtra. The awards ceremony was a spectacular celebration of the exceptional talent and hard work of the film industry.

This year's Filmfare ceremony was nothing short of historic, as it featured the megastar Salman Khan taking on the role of host for the very first time, alongside co-hosts Ayushmann Khurrana and Maniesh Paul. As Salman Khan made his grand entrance onto the stage, his magnetic presence filled the air, leaving the audience in awe. The fans were visibly thrilled, bursting with energy and enthusiasm, making it an unforgettable night. The evening was also graced by the presence of the resplendent and graceful Smt. Amruta Fadnavis, who radiated elegance and poise.

Talking about the success of the awards night, Worldwide Media Ltd CEO Deepak Lamba said, “The evening was a true celebration of talent, complete with outstanding entertainment and breathtaking performances. Salman Khan made a successful debut as the host of the Filmfare Awards, captivating the audience with his humour and honesty. Congratulations to all the winners of the prestigious Black Lady. We are thrilled to have Hyundai Motor India as our Title Partner and Maharashtra Tourism as our Destination Partner for the first time ever. Our longstanding association with Colors has helped us push boundaries and put together a power-packed show, which will be broadcasted in less than 24 hours. The show will air tonight at 9 PM with a simulcast on Jio Cinema, our digital partner for the first time. We would like to thank everyone who made this year's event a memorable one and look forward to an even grander event in the upcoming years.”

Sharing his thoughts, Filmfare editor Jitesh Pillai shared, “Another year added to the legacy of Filmfare Awards as the Hindi Film Industry continues to raise the bar in storytelling and entertaining audiences. We laud the efforts of the talent that is leaving an indelible mark with their skills, art, and flair. Congratulations to all the winners and nominees for their outstanding contributions to cinema, and for keeping the show running. With the culmination of the 68th edition of the Filmfare Awards, I’d like to thank all the people from the Hindi Film Fraternity who joined us in our celebrations today. Let's continue to push boundaries and create magic on the big screen.”

Bollywood stars Vicky Kaushal, Tiger Shroff, Janhvi Kapoor, Jacqueline Fernandez, and Govinda were the top entertainers of the event by performing on their hit numbers exclusively for the fans of Filmfare. Fans were in for a surprise as Salman took on the stage for the welcome act. He also shook a leg with his partner Govinda on their iconic song Partner.

The red carpet of this glamorous event was a captivating site to behold as witnessed the biggies from the showbiz posing and presenting their fashion style statement such as Salman Khan, Ayushmaan Khurrana, Rajkummar Rao, Tiger Shroff, Govinda Maniesh Paul, Vicky Kaushal, Anil Kapoor, Anupam Kher, Nawazuddin Siddiqui, Jaideep Ahalwat, Prosenjit, Aparshakti Khurana, Sanjay Leela Bhansali, Sooraj Barjatya, Madhur Bhandarkar, Ayan Mukerji, Pritam, Jeetendra, Manish Malhotra, Sanjay Mishra, Adinath Kothare, Abhimanyu Dasani, Munawar Faruqui, Prateik Babbar, Shantanu Maheshwari, Harshvardhan Kapoor , Sharad Kelkar and many more who looked their dashing, debonair and dapper selves. On the other hand, beauties from Indian Cinema like Rekha, Alia Bhatt, Kajol, Raveena Tandon, Janhvi Kapoor, Bhumi Pednekar, Pooja Hegde, Dia Mirza, Nargis Fakhri, Rakul Preet Singh, Sanjana Sanghi,  Pranutan, Guneet Monga, Manisha Koirala, Prajakta Koli, Alaya F, Andrea Kevichusa, Poonam Dhillon, Anusha Dandekar, Amruta Fadnavis, Akshara Haasan, Sunny Leone, Shriya Saran, Swara Bhaskar, Richa Chadha, Hina Khan, Amruta Khanvilkar, Darshan Kumar, Daisy Shah, Sheeba Chaddha, Aahana Kumra, Ameesha Patel, Manushi Chhillar, Saiyami Kher, Fatima Sana Shaikh, Rupali Ganguly and many more graced the carpet as they looked gorgeous and glamorous.

This celebration was held at the beautiful Jio World Convention Centre, India’s largest convention, exhibition, and social events facility in the heart of the Mumbai city, Bandra Kurla Complex. The official Venue Partner for awards this year, Jio World Convention Centre is a landmark destination that consists of transformative spaces, backed by technology that is well-equipped to host virtual, physical and hybrid events.

The 68 Filmfare Awards 2023 is presented by Hyundai Motor India as the Title Partner, Destination Partner Maharashtra Tourism, Co-presented by Vimal Elaichi, Co-powered by Amway Nutrilite, Amazon India and TAC - The Ayurveda Company, Special Partners – Greenply and Migsun Group, Exclusive Telecast Partners – Colors and Colors Cineplex, Digital Partner – Jio Cinema, Venue Partner – Jio World Convention Centre, Mumbai and in association with John Players, Reliance Footwear, Yardley and Killer, Music Partner - T-Series, Gifting & Invitation Partner – Izzhaar, Radio Partner – 98.3 Mirchi, Outdoor Partner- Bright Outdoor, Trophy Partner - The Award Gallery, Ambient Media Partner - Khushi Advertising, Technical Direction & Stage Management- On Cue Productions, Acts Choreographed & Designed by – Caesar Gonsalves and team, Designed, Scripted, Directed and Produced by - Hyperlink Brand Solutions, Show directed by – VG Jairam